About Board of Managers

Monte Peterson, Chair, American Soybean Association (ASA) , USSEC Board

Monte Peterson, a grower from Valley City, N.D., has been on the American Soybean Association (ASA) Board of Directors since 2015. He’s served on various committees such as Membership and Corporate Relations, Finance and Administrative Services and Strategic Planning. Peterson currently serves on the Trade Policy and International Affairs Committee of ASA and on the Agricultural Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission. He represents ASA on the U.S. Soybean Export Council's Board of Directors where he is currently Chairman. Peterson also serves on the North Dakota Soybean Growers Association (NDSGA) Board of Directors with focus on its Legislative Committee. He also served on the North Dakota Soybean Council (NDSC) from 2006 – 2013 serving as Chairman for three years and Research Chair two years, during his term. He continues to serve on the Council’s Market Committee. Peterson is a fourth generation farmer who began his farming career in 1980 after receiving a Business Administration degree from North Dakota State College of Science. He and his wife continue working on the family farm where he grew up, producing corn and soybeans. Peterson and his wife Penny have two daughters and two granddaughters.

John Buboltz, Cargill, USSEC Board

John Buboltz is Cargill’s North American Soybean Processing Manager. John has 24 years+ of experience in the grain/oilseed industry and has been employed with Cargill since 2000. John began his Cargill career, working for Cargill’s flour milling joint venture, Horizon Milling, in various wheat trading, merchandising and risk management roles. In 2011, John moved over to the CASC platform as Hard Red Winter Wheat Product Line Manager and in 2013 transferred to Winnipeg, Canada, to take on the role of BU Risk Management Leader. He returned to Minneapolis in 2016 as the North American Oilseed Product Line Leader, managing Cargill’s soybean export and origination program and in 2018 moved over to the crush desk to lead Cargill’s North American soybean processing business.

Max Fisher, National Grain and Feed Association

Max Fisher is the National Grain and Feed Association’s Vice President of economics and government relations. He joined NGFA in 2013 after serving as the chief economist for the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, where he worked for Senator Pat Roberts from Kansas. He received his undergraduate degree in agricultural business from Kansas State University and a master’s degree in agricultural economics from Texas A&M University. Max and his wife have four children, and his hobby is managing a farming operation.

Matt Giltner, Archer Daniels Midland (ADM), USSEC Board

Matt Giltner grew up on a row crop, cattle, and hog farm in Southeast Iowa. In 2000, he graduated from Iowa State University with a degree in finance and joined ADM. Matt has spent the past 19 years in various merchandising and risk management roles with ADM both in the United States and Germany. He currently serves as ADM’s manager in charge of U.S. bulk export soybeans. Matt is married to Kelly and has four wonderful children.

Derek Haigwood, United Soybean Board (USB), USSEC Board

Derek Haigwood is a fourth-generation row-crop farmer who grows soybeans, rice, corn, cotton, grain sorghum and wheat with his wife, Shannon, on their farm in Newport, Arkansas. They have two sons, Judah and Samuel. Derek servers as Director on the United Soybean Board (USB). In December 2015, Derek and his wife Shannon won the Arkansas Farm Bureau’s 2015 Young Farmers & Ranchers Achievement Award. Derek has served on the U.S. Soybean Export Council’s Board of Directors for four years and has traveled extensively with the organization in helping to create and build preference for U.S. Soy worldwide.

Tom Hammer, National Oilseed Processors Association

Tom Hammer became President of the National Oilseed Processors Association (NOPA) in September 2001. NOPA’s members are engaged in the crushing of U.S. soybeans, sunflower, canola, flaxseed and safflower. As the Association’s CEO, he is responsible for the strategic management, tactical administration, and operation of DC office activities and all staff as well as communication with the Board of Directors and Committee Chairs.

Tom has over 40 years of involvement in the Washington agricultural and international trade policy area. He has extensive experience in both the government and private sector.

Hammer’s government experience includes service as Deputy Under Secretary for International Affairs and Commodity Programs at the U.S. Department of Agriculture from 1981-1982. Currently, Hammer serves as Vice Chair on the Agricultural Policy Advisory Council (APAC) for Trade to the Secretary of Agriculture and the U.S Trade Representative.

He is a member of several industry organizations, including the National Association of Manufacturers’ (NAM), the Council of Manufacturing Associations, the U.S Chamber of Commerce, the Washington Agricultural Roundtable, and the Manufacturing Action Council. He is also a member of the U.S. Soybean Export Council (USSEC) and its Sustainability and Market Access Strategic Utilization Team.

Hammer received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Marietta College, Marietta Ohio and earned his Master’s in Business Administration (MBA) from the George Washington University, Washington, DC.

He resides in Washington, DC with his wife Anne.

Gary Martin, North American Export Grain Association

Gary C. Martin has served since June of 2000 as President and Chief Executive Officer of the North American Export Grain Association (NAEGA). Since 2014 he has served as the President of the International Grain Trade Coalition. In addition, his many industry leadership activities include service with the U.S. Food and Agriculture Dialog for Trade, the Canada-U.S. Grain and Seed Trade Task Group and the Board of Directors of Soy Export Sustainability LLC.

Before assuming the presidency of NAEGA, Gary was a NAEGA Board Director and officer, representing Farmland Industries, Inc. At Farmland he had several responsibilities including Director of Trade and International Relations, Director of Grain Marketing, and Founder and President of Farmland Graños in Mexico. From 1990 to 1992 Mr. Martin served the Administration of George H.W. Bush at the US Department of Agriculture as Deputy Administrator of Commodity Operations and as an officer of the Commodity Credit Corporation. In the first year of the Clinton Administration, from 1992 to 1993, he served as an advisor to the Special Ambassador to the former Soviet Union at the U.S. Department of State.

Gary earned a B.Sc. in Agricultural Economics, with highest honors, from the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana. He is also a graduate of the University of Missouri, Institute of Cooperative Leadership, and has graduate studies in International Transactions at the George Mason University. Gary and his wife Denise reside near Leesburg, Virginia USA.

Jim Sutter, U.S. Soybean Export Council, Ex Officio Member

Jim Sutter serves as USSEC’s CEO after spending significant time in the global oilseeds industry with Cargill, Inc. USSEC represents the full U.S. Soy Export Supply Chain, which runs from the Farm through the Export Elevator including all facets along the way and USSEC’s 100+ Members represent that full chain. Since joining USSEC, Sutter has worked with their global team to differentiate and build a preference for U.S. Soy with strong emphasis on ensuring market access. Key initiatives have included building collaborative relationships with international Customers of U.S. Soy and multiple Organizations with whom we partner. Sutter grew up on a crop and cattle farm in northeastern Colorado and received a degree in Agricultural Business/Economics from Colorado State University.